The Lightner Museum offers visitors an immersive experience of art, architecture, and history.
Founded by Chicago Publisher Otto Lightner in 1948, today the museum presents Lightner's unique collection of Americana, fine and decorative art, and natural history specimens, alongside compelling exhibitions and programs.
The museum is housed in the former Alcazar Hotel. Built in 1888 by Henry Flagler, the Alcazar was the railroad magnate's second grand hotel in St. Augustine. Designed by the firm of Carrère and Hastings, the Spanish Renaissance Revival hotel hosted thousands of guests who enjoyed its remarkable recreation facilities — including the world's largest swimming pool, Turkish and Russian steam baths, tennis courts, and a gymnasium. The Alcazar closed during the Depression and the former Gilded Age resort hotel was transformed into an eclectic museum of art and artifacts by Otto Lightner.
Today, the heart of the Lightner Museum is its diverse and extraordinary collection, including lamps by Louis Comfort Tiffany, American and European paintings, geological specimens and shells collected from all over the globe, and mechanical musical instruments of the Victorian era.
In addition to its permanent collection, the Lightner Museum presents an active schedule of exhibitions, events, and educational programs for the enjoyment of visitors and the local community.
The Lightner Museum is located at 75 King Street in the historic downtown district of St. Augustine, just across from Flagler College.
The museum is open from 9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., with the last admission at 4:00 p.m. The Ballroom Gallery closes at 4:30 p.m. They are closed on Thanksgiving, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day.